Chloe Zhao makes history with Oscar wins for Best Film Director.

The only second women to go back home with an Oscar.His

Normal would be the last way to describe the 93rd Academy Awards. This year in Hollywood, due to Covid-19 pandemic, theatres across the globe were closed causing majority of the movies to be watched through streaming services instead. Another result of such pandemic was the two month delayal of the ceremony, as well as, the lack of host this year in Hollywood. Besides this, instead of executing acceptance speeches through zoom, there were two- in-person live locations for the ceremony. One at the Dolly Theatre in Hollywood and the other one at the Union Station in downtown Los Angeles. Few overseas nominees engaged from London and Paris.

Kathryn Bigelow 11 years ago became the first woman to win best director for The Hurt Locker, and now Chinese-born filmmaker Chloe Zhao has become the first Asian women and only the second, to ever win the best director at the Oscar academy awards with her movie that told a story of financially stretched US van dwellers in Nomadland that stars actress Frances McDormand.

Zhao was born in China and lived in Beijing until age 14, when she went to boarding school in London. She later moved to Los Angeles where she finished high school and then attended film school in New York. Where even though Zhao has achieved great success in the United states, she is still not praised in her homeland.

But this didn’t let Zhao down she paid homage to the cast and for those who inspired her to “keep going” through out her career.

“This is for anyone who has the faith and the courage to hold onto the goodness in themselves and hold onto to the goodness in each other, no matter how difficult it is to do that,” she said during her acceptance speech. “This is for you. You inspire me to keep going.”


For Best Supporting Actress, Yuh-Jung Youn of the film ‘Minari’ won, becoming the first Korean and only second Asian woman to win this category. For the category Makeup and Hair, the award went out to the two stylists of “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom”, becoming the first ever black winners for this category.

Below is the full list of winners and nominees of the 93rd Academy Awards

Full List of winner and nominees

Best Picture
• “Nomadland” — Winner
• “The Father”
• “Judas and the Black Messiah” • “Mank”
• “Minari”
• “Promising Young Woman”
• “Sound of Metal”
• “The Trial of the Chicago 7”

Best Director
• Chloé Zhao, “Nomadland” — Winner
• Thomas Vinterberg, “Another Round”
• David Fincher, “Mank”
• Lee Isaac Chung, “Minari”
• Emerald Fennell, “Promising Young Woman”

Actress in a Leading Role
• Frances McDormand, “Nomadland” — Winner • Viola Davis, “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom”
• Andra Day, “The United States vs. Billie Holiday” • Vanessa Kirby, “Pieces of a Woman”
• Carey Mulligan, “Promising Young Woman”

Actor in a Leading Role
• Anthony Hopkins, “The Father” — Winner
• Riz Ahmed, “Sound of Metal”
• Chadwick Boseman, “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom” • Gary Oldman, “Mank”
• Steven Yeun, “Minari”
Actress in a Supporting Role
• Yuh-jung Youn, “Minari” — Winner
• Maria Bakalova, “Borat Subsequent Moviefilm”
• Glenn Close, “Hillbilly Elegy”
• Olivia Colman, “The Father”
• Amanda Seyfried, “Mank”

Actor in a Supporting Role
• Daniel Kaluuya, “Judas and the Black Messiah” — Winner • Sacha Baron Cohen, “The Trial of the Chicago 7”
• Leslie Odom Jr., “One Night in Miami…”
• Paul Raci, “Sound of Metal”
• LaKeith Stanfield, “Judas and the Black Messiah”

Original Song
• “Fight For You” from “Judas and the Black Messiah” — Winner
• “Hear My Voice” from “The Trial of the Chicago 7”
• “Husavik” from “Eurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga” • “lo Sì (Seen)” from “The Life Ahead (La Vita Davanti a Se)”
• “Speak Now” from “One Night in Miami…”

Animated Feature Film • “Soul” — Winner
• “Onward”
• “Over the Moon”

• “A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon” • “Wolfwalkers”

Makeup and Hairstyling
• “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom” — Winner • “Emma.”
• “Hillbilly Elegy”
• “Mank”
• “Pinocchio”

Visual Effects
• “Tenet” — Winner
• “Love and Monsters”
• “The Midnight Sky”
• “Mulan”
• “The One and Only Ivan”

• “Mank” — Winner
• “Judas and the Black Messiah” • “News of the World”
• “Nomadland”
• “The Trial of the Chicago 7”

Film Editing
• “Sound of Metal” — Winner • “The Father”
• “Nomadland”
• “Promising Young Woman” • “The Trial of the Chicago 7”

Production Design
• “Mank” — Winner
• “The Father”
• “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom” • “News of the World”

• “Tenet”


  • “Sound of Metal” — Winner
  • “Greyhound”
  • “Mank”
  • “News of the World”
  • “Soul”
    International Feature Film
    • Denmark, “Another Round” — Winner
    • Hong Kong, “Better Days”
    • Romania, “Collective”
    • Tunisia, “The Man Who Sold His Skin”
    • Bosnia and Herzegovina, “Quo Vadis, Aida?”Documentary Short Subject
    • “Colette” — Winner
    • “A Concerto Is a Conversation” • “Do Not Split”
    • “Hunger Ward”
    • “A Love Song for Latasha”

    Documentary Feature
    • “My Octopus Teacher” — Winner • “Collective”
    • “Crip Camp”
    • “The Mole Agent”
    • “Time”

    Live Action Short Film
    • “Two Distant Strangers” — Winner
    • “Feeling Through”
    • “The Letter Room”
    • “The Present”
    • “White Eye”
    Animated Short Film
    • “If Anything Happens I Love You” — Winner • “Burrow”
    • “Genius Loci”
    • “Opera”
    • “Yes-People”

Original Screenplay
• Emerald Fennell, “Promising Young Woman” — Winner
• Screenplay by Will Berson and Shaka King; story by Will Berson, Shaka King, Kenny Lucas and Keith Lucas, “Judas and the Black Messiah”
• Lee Isaac Chung, “Minari”
• Screenplay by Darius Marder and Abraham Marder; story by Darius Marder and Derek Cianfrance, “Sound of Metal”
• Aaron Sorkin, “The Trial of the Chicago 7”

Adapted Screenplay
• Christopher Hampton and Florian Zeller, “The Father” — Winner
• Screenplay by Sacha Baron Cohen, Anthony Hines, Dan Swimer, Peter Baynham, Erica Rivinoja, Dan Mazer, Jena Friedman and Lee Kern; story by Sacha Baron Cohen, Anthony Hines, Dan Swimer and Nina Pedrad, “Borat Subsequent Moviefilm”
• Chloé Zhao, “Nomadland”
• Kemp Powers, “One Night in Miami…”
• Ramin Bahrani, “The White Tiger”

Original Score
• “Soul” — Winner
• “Da 5 Bloods”
• “Mank”
• “Minari”
• “News of the World”

Costume Design
• “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom” — Winner • “Emma.”
• “Mank”
• “Mulan”
• “Pinocchio”

    • share via